Professor Sridhar Tayur Elected to the Prestigious National Academy of Engineering

Sridhar R. Tayur, the Ford Distinguished Research Chair and professor of operations management, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in February, one of the highest professional distinctions an engineer can receive. He will officially be inducted into the NAE in October 2017 at an event in Washington, D.C.

NAE membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing and implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Tayur was recognized by the NAE “for developing and commercializing innovative methods to optimize supply chain systems.” Tayur’s research covers supply chain management, enterprise analytics and software, private equity and lean operations, entrepreneurship and social enterprises, and health care operations. He is also the founder of OrganJet, a social enterprise that helps expedite matching for kidney transplants, and was the founder (and served as CEO) of SmartOps, an inventory and service-level optimization software company that was acquired by SAP in 2013.

Ph.D. Students Recognized for Outstanding Research

Each year three Ph.D. candidates are presented with dissertation awards recognizing excellence in research in areas such as operations, marketing, organizational behavior and more. This year’s award winners were recognized at the Ph.D. Awards Tea in spring 2017.

Johannes Gerhardus (Gerdus) Benade received the Egon Balas Award for the Best Paper in Operations Research/Algorithms, Combinatorics and Optimization, named in honor of current faculty member Egon Balas, University Professor of Industrial Administration and Applied Mathematics and the Thomas Lord Professor of Operations Research. Benade was chosen as winner of this award by a faculty committee headed by Javier Peña, Bajaj Family Chair in Operations Research, for his paper titled “Preference Elicitation for Participatory Budgeting.”

The Dipankar and Sharmila Chakravarti Doctoral Fellowship Award, in recognition of outstanding contributions to research in marketing, was awarded to Zijun (June) Shi. She was chosen as winner of this award by a faculty committee led by Jeffrey Galak, associate professor of marketing. 

Ying (Evelyn) Zhang was selected as the winner of the Gerald R. Salancik Doctoral Dissertation Award, chosen by a faculty committee led by Anita Williams Woolley, associate professor of organizational behavior and theory. Zhang’s winning paper is titled “Intra-Organizational Mobility: Movers, Incumbents, and Communication Networks.”

Tepper School of Business Students Selected for Prestigious Andrew Carnegie Scholars Program

Four Tepper School of Business undergraduate students were selected for the 2016–2017 class of Andrew Carnegie Society (ACS) Scholars, a prestigious program that recognizes students who embody Carnegie Mellon University’s high standards of academic excellence, volunteerism, leadership and involvement with campus organizations. Senior business administration students Benjamin Chang, Harsimran Minhas and Radhika Dalal and senior economics student Gujri Singh were selected by deans and department heads to represent their class.

The scholars are asked by the ACS Board to attend several educational sessions related to philanthropy, which provide the base for their experience in the program and an opportunity to act as real-world philanthropists during their time at Carnegie Mellon. Each scholar receives a monetary award, made possible by the generosity of Andrew Carnegie Society members, to support their academic and personal growth. The scholars also have the opportunity to give back to the university community, and the group of students serves as a foundation board designed to distribute several thousand dollars to a worthy organization or group of organizations on campus, allowing the students to experience the satisfaction that philanthropy brings.